Low Mill

This post appears in the following categories:

, , ,

LOW MILL was referred to in 1798 as a lately erected mill for grinding calcinated flints but by 1867 it was used by Joseph Cowen as a clay grinding mill. The inner face of the wheel pit is still visible in the river bank the centre upper part of an arched opening carrying the wheel shaft with an arc worn in the masonry by the wheel having run out of alignment at one time. The wheel pit isn’t visible but probably survives below the silt and gravel. William Bourn described the waterwheel as hidden by a picturesque little cottage. The weir is clearly visible and there is a midden on the north bank of the stream.